Tips on Finding Safe Food for a Gluten Free Diet

What is a gluten free diet you ask. It is a diet that doesn’t have any gluten in it. Gluten is a protein that is found in wheat, barley, rye, malts, and triticale. People who have the disease celiac and wheat allergies are on this diet.

Those who are on this regimen will feel more healthier, have their energy return, not have a bloated stomach, will not have diarrhea and sickness like usual, relief from burning and itchy skin, etc. Once though you go back to those foods that made you sick, your overall health will deteriorate again.

Some of the foods that can be eaten are acorns, almonds, aromatic rice, artichoke, beans, black and red rice, brown rice, coconut flour, corn, legumes, peanuts, popcorn, soybean, sweet potato, wild rice, etc. Food labels that have the words stabilizer, starch, flavoring, emulsifier, hydrolyzed, and plant protein often mean that they have gluten in them. Wheat, barley, rye, malted drinks, breaded fish, meatloaf, pizza, meatballs, floured meats, breads, bran, macaroni, pretzels, gravy and cream sauces with flour, cakes, cookies, etc. contain it also. Some of the foods that may contain the product are sour cream, cheese products, yogurt, hamburger, cold cuts, packaged rice mixes, cornbread, salad dressings, pie fillings, puddings, ice cream, chewing gum, potato chips, cocoa mixes, soup mixes, flavoring syrups, soy sauce, medicines, etc.

Here is an example of a meal that you could have during the day to keep you on your diet. For breakfast: Cream of rice, skim milk, banana, and orange juice. Lunch: Baked chicken, rice, green beans, and apple juice. Dinner: Sirloin steak, peas, fruit gelatin, and butter. You could also have a hamburger so long as the bun was made from an all purpose gluten free flour recipe.

So, as you can see there are many food choices that you can choose from for this diet. There are also many food items that you can’t eat also.

Comments are closed.